Rare & Out Of Print Books   

Quick Search

Seller Id
Browse by category
* Recent Additions *
Alice in Wonderland
Alphabet Books
Animal Stories
Children's Fiction:A - D
Children's Fiction:E - H
Children's Fiction:I - L
Children's Non Fiction
Children's Poetry and Rhyme
Early Readers and School Text Books
Fairy and Folk Tales
Novelty Books
Picture Books
TV, Radio and Film
Vintage Illustrated Story Books

View Other Categories

Alison Uttley

Daily Mail Annuals


Illustration Gallery

Janet and Anne Grahame Johnstone Bibliography

Ladybird Books

Marion St. John Webb

Pookie Books

Rene Cloke

Uncle Oojah

Visit Our Blog
Give the gift of a great book!
Checkout a Gift Card

Our secure web pages are hosted by Chrislands Inc, who use a Thawte SSL Certificate to ensure secure transmission of your information.
Fully Trusted SSL Certificate

Lorna Hill was born in Durham, England in 1902. A dream of Sadler's Wells (1950) was the first of a long series of novels based on her daughter's training at the Sadler's Wells Ballet School (now The Royal Ballet School).  Lorna Hill wrote numerous books during her lifetime, including the Dancing Peel series (ballet), the Marjorie series and the Patience series (pony books) and a series about Vicarage children. If you are interested in finding out more about Lorna Hill and her books, Collecting Books and Magazines is a good place to start. 

If we have any Lorna Hill books in stock you will find them here

A dream of Sadler's Wells first published in 1950
Veronica at the Wells first published in 1951
Masquerade at the Wells first published in 1952
No castanets at the Wells first published in 1953
Jane leaves the Wells first published in 1953
Ella at the Wells first published in 1954

Return to the Wells first published in 1955

Rosanna joins the Wells first published in 1956

Principal role first published in 1957

Swan feather first published in 1958

Dress rehearsal first published in 1959

Back-stage first published in 1960

Vicki in Venice first published in 1962

The Secret first published in 1964

Children’s books by Lorna Hill in stock here


1 Marjorie and Co (Art & Educational 1948)
2 Stolen Holiday (Art & Educational 1948)
3 Border Peel (Art & Educational 1950)
4 Northern Lights (privately pub. 1999)
5 Castle in Northumbria (Burke1953)
6 No medals for Guy Nelson (Nelson1962)


1 They Called Her Patience (Burke 1951)
2 It Was All Through Patience (Burke 1952)
3 So Guy Came Too (Burke 1954)
5 The Five ShillingHoliday (Burke 1955)


1 A Dream of Sadlers Wells (Evans 1950)  
2 Veronica at the Wells (Evans 1951) 
3 Masquerade at the Wells (Evans 1952) 
4 No Castanets at the Wells (Evans 1953) 
5 Jane Leaves the Wells (Evans 1953)
6 Ella at the Wells (Evans 1954)
7 Return to the Wells (Evans 1955)
8 Rosanna Joins the Wells (Evans 1956)
9 Principal Rôle (Evans 1957)
10 Swan Feather (Evans 1958)
11 Dress-Rehearsal (Evans 1959)
12 Back-Stage (Evans 1960)
13 Vicki in Venice (Evans 1962) 
14 The Secret (Evans 1964)


1 Dancing Peel (Nelson 1954)
2 Dancer's Luck (Nelson 1955)
3 The Little Dancer (Nelson 1956)
4 Dancer in the Wings (Nelson 1958)
5 Dancer in Danger (Nelson 1960)
6 Dancer onHoliday (Nelson 1962)


1 The Vicarage Children (Evans 1961)
2 More About Mandy (Evans 1963)
3 The Vicarage Children in Skye (Evans 1966)

March House Books

38 Old Station Gardens, Henstridge, Somerset, BA8 0PU, UK
Telephone +44 (0)1963 364403 email books@marchhousebooks.com


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to books@marchhousebooks.com
Copyright©2015. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com